top of page

Jamaican Me Crazy!

Jamaica was my first REAL VACATION and HANDS DOWN one of the best vacation spots. Ive visited! from the aunthentic jerk chicken, Rum, 'Bob Marley' drinks, and tours, it was so bomb!

The above picture was at the airport. Soon as you land and head to the shuttles, there is a pit stop to drink! It was sooooo hot in Jamaica so drinking a cold adult beverage didn't sound so bad. As you're riding to the resort you cant help but to notice the scenery and local areas. Literally every house or building had Jamaican and Bob Marley flags, posters , etc everywhere. Seeing that alone made me feel like "Wow I'm really in Montego Bay".

Small Tip- It's always cool to exchange your currency before you get to Jamaica. In my opinion it was easier for me. Every $100 Jamaica dollar = to $1 USD. I purchased a shirt and the guy was like "Ok thats $500"---I had to quickly remember thats only $5 !

The Resort!

I booked the Secrets St.James in Montego Bay. Soon as you walk in, you're greeted with a glass of champagne and the staff is just incredible! Every day at noon, they had a JERK CART that would come by the pool. Yes, for a whole hour, you could get fresh, hot, spicy jerk chicken with EXTRA SAUCE , fresh off the grill. There were multiple restaraunts,buffets, on the property, a night club and if you needed to book tours, you could do it all in the lobby.

Activities

My 1st day in Jamaica, I went on an excursion for rafting on the Martha Brae River. You have someone guiding you down the relaxing Martha Brae river on the raft made of super thick bamboo sticks. They pointed out different types of trees, flowers and etc. There are also different vendors alongside the river, where you can purchase souvernieirs Red Stripe and more.

My 2nd day , I headed to Ocho Rios to conquer Dunns River Falls. Dunn's River Falls is a famous waterfall near Ocho Rios, Jamaica and a major Caribbean tourist attraction that receives thousands of visitors each year. I was super nervous about climbing it but once I saw so many people going up, all holding hands , I relaxed. After numerous photo-ops, we all made it to the top & I'm so freaking glad that I did it. The only thing I didn't like were the aggressive vendors at Dunn's River Falls. It was almost impossible to avoid them as you made your way back down hill. Ugh.

My 3rd day, we took a hour long drive to Negril, Jamaica. This tour included a stop at the beach & admission to the famous Ricks Cafe! Ricks Cafe is home to some of the best cliff divers. We got there in time to enjoy a bite to eat at Ricks Cafe, the cliffdivers and the beautiful sunset.

As you can see I did a lot and I can't wait to go back ! Also, there is a Jimmy Buffett Margaritaville not far from the resort. I went at night and it's literally like a club. DJ'S, drinks, glow sticks and all. There is also a balcony at Margaritaville over looking the ocean and during the day you can go out on the waterslide thats attached to the building and play on the trampolines and etc thats out there.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page